Grandiose Idee

Announcing Zap Reader! So Much to Read . . . So Little Time!

Zap ReaderA couple months ago I realized the incredible amount of stuff that I had to read. I’m not an incredibly fast reader but I’ve read a book or two on speed reading. I knew that there was some speed reading software available but it all had to be installed on a particualr computer. I use a number of different computers, browsers, and operating systems, so these options didn’t work for me. I decided to write my own web based speed reading program with the features that I wanted. With that, Zap Reader was born. After sharing it with some friends, I was encouraged to make it public.

It’s really rough at this point, but I hope to make it better as I get input from the users and find out what you really want the program to do. As I’ve worked on getting it to a point where I could share it with other people, I’ve developed a business model for it, so it is a commercial venture, even though it is free to use. As of the launch, here is the text from the home page:

ZAP Reader is a web based speed reading program that will change the way you read on your computer. Current beta testers report reading twice as much in half the time—that’s a 400% increase in reading speed, without any loss in comprehension! There is nothing to install, it works with most popular browsers, and it’s totally free!

Reader – If you have some text that you want to read fast, copy it onto your computer’s clipboard, click this link, and follow the instructions to Zap read that text.

Settings – By default, Zap Reader allows you to read at 300 words per minute, one word at a time. Use the settings feature to configure Zap Reader with your own preferences.

Tools – Zap Reader is designed to be easy to integrate with other programs. Find out about browser bookmarklets, program ad-ins, and other integration tools here.

Blog – To keep up with the latest news about Zap Reader, read the Zap Reader Blog. Even better, subscribe to the RSS feed.

Forum – Want to submit a bug report, request an enhancement, or just talk to other Zap Reader users?

I’ll be posting a tutorial here later, but I think that everything is fairly intuitive, so go ahead and give it a try. Then visit the forums, or post a comment here on the blog, and let me know what you think!

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Schreibe einen Kommentar

